Media Room

About NSCC
In 1963, the Tennessee General Assembly passed House Bill No. 633 authorizing the statewide system of regional technical institutes and area vocational-technical schools. Nashville State opened in 1970 with an enrollment of 398 students. By the Fall of 2000, that number had grown to 7,315; with an enrollment of over 14,000 students during the entire academic year. Nashville State’s initial offering of five Associate’s degree programs has grown to 49 degree programs and 12 certificate programs. In addition, Nashville State offers continuing education courses ranging from technical skills to management training and programs providing training in such areas as computer-aided drafting and office technology.

Nashville State shares a 109-acre campus with the Tennessee College of Applied Technology, Nashville. The Nashville State facilities include 239,000 square feet of space for classrooms, labs, offices, student services, and a library. Since 1984, Nashville State has been governed by the Tennessee Board of Regents (TBR) of the State University and Community College System. By 2001, TBR began analyzing the lack of a comprehensive community college presence in Cheatham, Davidson, Dickson, Houston, Humphreys, Montgomery, and Stewart counties. After extensive study and consultation, TBR decided to pursue the objective of expanding the mission of Nashville State as a comprehensive community college in order to help Middle Tennesseans by preparing a skilled workforce; attracting high skill, high pay jobs; improving the per capita income rank of 8th among 11 peer cities; easing transfer to baccalaureate programs; and projecting a substantial income lifetime advantage of graduates with Associate’s degrees. In the spring of 2002, the decision was approved by the Tennessee General Assembly and the Tennessee State Governor to expand Nashville State to community college status effective on July 1, 2002.

Nashville State is authorized to offer the Associate of Applied Science (A.A.S.) degree, as well as technical and academic certificates. The Associate of Arts (A.A.), Associate of Fine Arts (A.F.A.), Associate of Science (A.S.) and Associate of Science Teaching (A.S.T.) degrees are offered for students planning to transfer to universities.

Contact Us
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
Executive Director, Development and Public Affairs
Phone: 615-353-3604

Web Site Design by Paramore|Redd Online Marketing

RODP Workforce Careers